Top Stories of 2019 - No.1 - Cumberland Baseball wins the National Championship

Cumberland Baseball won the college's first and only National Championship
Cumberland Baseball won the college's first and only National Championship

Well, we have finally reached the top of the 2019 mountain in Cumberland Athletics. Just by coincidence, our top story of 2019 is about a team that reached the highest point possible. The Number 1 Cumberland Athletics story of 2019 is the Dukes Baseball program winning the Cumberland County College's first and only National Championship.

Since that night, the student-athletes that make up the Cumberland Baseball roster have been on a whirlwind tour beginning with a police escort upon crossing into New Jersey on their return trip home. They were celebrated with a parade that took them through the Cumberland community where throngs of fans welcomed them as heroes. Following the parade, the on-campus community showered the group with the love that resembled the driving force to the championship. Lastly, it would be the New Jersey State Capitol, Cumberland County Freeholders, and the Cumberland County College Board of Trustees to offer praise for this historic group.

Legendary Philadelphia Flyers Head Coach, Fred Shero, famously wrote on the locker room blackboard prior to winning the Stanley Cup, "Win today and walk together forever". The 2019 Cumberland County College Dukes won that night and will now be in our hearts forever.

Click below for a recap on the historic night.

Cumberland wins CCC's first National Championship

The following members of the Class of 2019 will be moving on to continue their academic and athletic careers.

Brian Bromley - University of South Carolina - Beaufort

Brian Gallante - Shippensburg University (PA)

Tyler Knox - Missour Baptist University

Ryan McIsaac - High Point University (NC)

Nicholas Milhan - University of South Carolina - Beaufort

Vincent Napolitano - Missouri Baptist University

Joseph Nestel - University of Maryland - Baltimore County 

Jarrett Quinn - Missouri Baptist University

Jose Rodriguez - St. John's University (NY)

Dylan Scaranda - Campbell University (NC)

Donnie Stone - Marist College (NY)